I’m Back!

So, it’s been quite awhile since I’ve last engaged in anything writing. Around March 8, to be exact. If I’m honest, it was intentional. But not in a, ‘give up eating my broccoli and dumping in the dog’s dish,’ way.

Some of you may know that I’ve been working on a career change, due to having my fill of mental health issues arising from years of working as a Correctional Officer. But that’s H20 under the proverbial bridge, as they say. Though it never leaves you, not quite. The mind can forgive, but it never forgets, not those things.  

Just a bit of backdrop there. I haven’t forgotten any of you, though I feel regret for not reengaging with the community sooner. Today is a fresh start, and I’m recommitting to picking up where I left off. It felt good to actually write again this morning.

I’ve been involved with some career retraining, and it’s been eating up my time and energy, so I took a break from all things writing.

I apologize, not for the break, but for dropping out without a word. I have to reread a book I was going to give a review on back in early March.

Today I’ll start reading your blogs again, going as steadily as time and energy will permit.

Never too late to start again, for any of us. Today is the first day of the rest of your life!

Have a blessed day and I’ll see you soon!

Published by

markbierman

Born and raised on a farm near Brockville, Ontario, Mark Bierman's childhood consisted of chores, riding horses, snowmobile races across open fields, fishing trips to a local lake, and many other outdoor adventures. He was also an avid reader of both fiction and non. Transitioning towards adulthood also meant moving from the farm and into large urban areas that introduced this country boy to life in the big cities. After a short stint as a private investigator, he moved into the role of Correctional Officer, working at both Millhaven Institution and Kingston Penitentiary, until it closed.

67 thoughts on “I’m Back!”

  1. I’m a new follower to your blog, so I have no knowledge about the hiatus you took or for how long. Welcome back, and may GOD bless you with your new endeavors. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No need to apologize, Mark. Good for you, in fact, for taking a break when other parts of your life needed attention. Blogland stays much the same over time, but that isn’t so about real life. Best of luck with your career change and congrats on taking that step. If you need to step away again, do so. We’re all here. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back, Mark!
    I completely understand why you needed to step back. Although I haven’t changed industries, last July the company I worked for was bought by a larger firm and my job position changed. It’s meant a lot of training, and a lot of wrapping my head around new work. When you’re doing that, it’s hard to have the energy to write and blog.
    Here’s wishing good things ahead with the changes for both of us!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Mae. I remember you mentioning about that change and the extra workload. I hope all is going well with you. Change is often good, but certainly comes with challenges.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can see that you wanted a career change, Mark! Being a Correctional Officer is a tiring and sometimes draining job even if you try to be positive. So you’re in training with your new job? It’s not easy either but at least you have a new beginning. It’ll only get better. My husband went back to work in the medical facilities after having his own business for 25 years. He retired for 6 years now. I also took about 6 months off and only blogged every 4 to 6 weeks. I kind of let people know I was in the process of moving close to my family. Hubby and I moved from California to Oregon three months ago. We’re now close to my family and grandkids. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Miriam! Being a Correctional Officer is a tough job, much harder than most people realize . . . especially after so many years. I’m currently training in something called, AutoCAD (computer aided design) which is used to design everything from homes to vehicles. I find it encouraging that things worked out for you and your husband. It can be done. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know any Correctional officers personally, but knowing the kind of people and the conditions they work with, I can imagine it’s not something for everyone.
        What you training is very interesting, Mark. Best wishes for a better working condition to come. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It can be a very challenging work place indeed. I really think these types of jobs have a shelf life and there is only so much that one should be exposed to. Thank you for your kind words of support, Miriam, Greatly appreciated!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You’re welcome, Mark! I worked as a rehabilitation counselor for two years. But they were only mental patients trying to get back on their feet. They were not motivated. I was discouraged from lack of progress. But your job was negative at 40 degrees below. You can only ignore so much of their disrespect and abuse. You had more than enough for your share.
        Treat yourself to something. You deserve it, Mark.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s good to see you back Mark! I hope the time away has given you the break you needed as you worked on your career retraining. As VJ said above, the important thing is that you do what you need to do to look after yourself. All the best to you my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on making the best decision for you. As someone who pays great attention to human behavior, I’m struck by how many people continue to go to a job they loathe each day. It’s an act of courage to switch careers, especially when that may mean a pay cut when we have financial obligations, but I think that’s the essence of courage. The change to look after our mental health is always the best decision.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mark, we all go through these periods when “real life” gets in the way. Ultimately, I believe, it makes us better writers. I’ll look forward to future posts, and it’s great that you’re reinventing your career. Bon courage!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think the most important thing is that you look after yourself. The blogging community will always be here, and we seem to be a forgiving bunch.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Life interrupts in unexpected ways, and friends always understand this truth. Welcome back, and best wishes on your new job. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.