Bibbles, Ratoons, And Bumfuzzles. Oh My!

Okay, raise your hand if you want to play a word quiz game today. Great! That’s everyone!

These words are some of the wackiest the English language has ever come up with, and that’s saying something.

Three choices are located under each word, and you guessed it, only one of them is correct (I challenge you to try them without Googling).  There are four words in total. You can put your guesses in the comments section, if you wish. The correct answers will be revealed in my next post.

For your viewing pleasure, I’ve asked my daughter to draw her interpretation of the word meanings. She really likes purple, can you tell?

Now, on with it.

Snollygoster: 

A: Someone who is unwanted and shunned at social gatherings because of their habit of creating tension.

B: A monster that lives in sump pump wells and is the true cause of those terrifying gargling sounds. The “logical” people claim the noise is caused by the activation of the pump.

C: A politician who does or says things for personal gain.

 

Monster

 

Wabbit:

A: A term for being exhausted.

B: What Elmer Fudd calls Bugs Bunny.

C: A type of metal used to make wheel bearings.

 

wabbit

 

Nudiustertian: 

A: One who adheres to a hedonist lifestyle, for whom ‘everything goes’.

B: A word for the day before yesterday.

C: A mundane occurrence.

(sorry, no picture, didn’t want to try to explain that one)

 

Abibliophobia: 

A: The fear of bibs.

B: The fear of running out of reading material.

C: The fear of libraries.

 

Library

 

So, there you have it, a few more words to add to your vocabulary arsenal that should have your friends and family rewarding you with an expression that might look like this:  (have your camera ready)  You’re welcome.

 

 

confused-2385799_640

Published by

markbierman

Born and raised on a farm near Brockville, Ontario, Mark Bierman's childhood consisted of chores, riding horses, snowmobile races across open fields, fishing trips to a local lake, and many other outdoor adventures. He was also an avid reader of both fiction and non. Transitioning towards adulthood also meant moving from the farm and into large urban areas that introduced this country boy to life in the big cities. After a short stint as a private investigator, he moved into the role of Correctional Officer, working at both Millhaven Institution and Kingston Penitentiary, until it closed.

14 thoughts on “Bibbles, Ratoons, And Bumfuzzles. Oh My!”

  1. OMG. this was so much fun! I’m going with B, C, A, B. The pictures are very cute!

    BTW, did you know that there is something close to a snollygoster, called a snallygaster? It’s a cryptid that is said to inhabit Maryland in the U.S. Teddy Roosevelt was going to take part in the Great Snallygaster Hunt of 1909, before opting to go on an African Safari instead. I’m a font of useless trivia when it comes to beasties 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Mae, I’m glad you enjoyed playing. I had fun creating the post . . . the words in the title are also real and I will reveal what they mean, as well as the others in my next post. LOL on the tory of the snallygaster hunt.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tell your daughter I enjoyed her pictures:)
    Here are my guesses:
    Snollygoster, c
    Wabbit, c (in my heart its b)
    Nudiustertian, c
    Abibliophobia, b.
    Can’t wait to hear the answers:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I love little quizzes like these, well done! I have my guesses written down and can’t wait for the reveal post later. I’m pretty sure on one, but the rest I have never heard of before which is going to drive me crazy as I refuse to search Google. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.